New Short Story Published

I am excited to say I have a new short story published online! I love getting to share these little tidbits of my writing. They are just a glimpse to what I am working on, but a good way to get myself out there.

I wrote the short story, “Pretty Faces,” for a contest on The Write Practice. The contest theme was first meetings, so I wrote the opening short story to a series I’m currently working on with these two teenage outcast characters, Al and Tess. “Pretty Faces” shows how these characters first meet, with young adult themes of fitting in, finding your true self and what really matters to you.

It’s a quick read at only 1,500 words, the contest word limit. My wonderful and wise friends in the Des Moines Writers Workshop are helping me to expand it and shape it into a nice opening for the series. This read is a quick glimpse into the bigger story of these two characters.

Click here to check out “Pretty Faces,” published on The Write Practice, which is a wonderful blog/website/resource for writers. The Write Practice has been recognized by Glimmer Train, Copyblogger and Problogger.

If you like the story or have anything to say about it, please leave a comment on the story or on this post.

I hope you’ll check it out. Thanks for reading. Happy creating!

Leave a comment